Gorey J2s got off to a flyer and raced into a 19 0 lead in the first quarter of their away fixture to Bective on Saturday last.

Gorey got the perfect start with their back row of Eoin Walsh, Stanley Hadden and Cameron Reynolds dominating the breakdown. Gorey did not waste any time in getting on the scoreboard with Richard Deering crossing for the opening try on 3 minutes after a Stanley Hadden turnover at a lineout. Cian Hadden converted.

Five minutes later Stanley Hadden crossed for Gorey’s second try for Morne Kemp to convert.

Gorey were in cruise control at this stage and when Gorey hooked against the head Paul O Connor made huge ground to offload to Morne Kemp to score his first try for Gorey.

Cian Hadden was just wide with the conversion. This took the score to 19 0.

Bective were slowly getting into the game and they were finally rewarded for good work when Sean Geraghty crossed for a good try, Luke Martin converted.

A Morne Kemp penalty extended Gorey’s lead to 22 7 with both sides awarded a red card after an altercation between two players.

The second half saw Gorey concede territory after a number of penalties against them. Bective reduce the arrears to 12 with a Luke Martin penalty.

Gorey settled and when Arron Davies crossed after concerted Gorey pressure for Morne Kemp to add the conversion to take the score to 29 10 Gorey looked secure. But Bective had other ideas and two tries in quick succession left just one score between the sides.

Gorey sensing the threat tighten up their game and for the final 10 minutes kept the home team deep in their own half to end the game with another win on a score of 29 22.

Gorey had some good performances with Arron Davies, Morne Kemp and Robbie Brooks the pick of the backs. Stanley Hadden, Eoin Walsh and Lloyd Stephens worked hard in the forwards.


W. Rothwell

L. Molloy

R. Deering

L. Stephens

K. Rothwell

E. Walsh

C. Reynolds

S. Hadden

A. Davies

C. Hadden

C. O’Keefe

P. O’Connor

M. Kemp

D. O’Neill

R. Brooks

G. Bater

D. Sawyer

B. Brooks

D. Gregan

W. O’Morchoe


Our Sponsors

Copyrights Gorey RFC 2022