GOREY’S J2s STAY IN TOUCH   25/11/2018



Gorey J2’s kept up their winning run with a narrow 22 - 19 win over visitors Dundalk

on Saturday last.

This was an exciting game from start to finish with both teams prepared to run the

ball at every opportunity.

It was the home team that got off to the perfect start when Owen Walshe powered

over for the opening try. Cian Hadden added the conversion.

A further Hadden penalty put Gorey 10 - 0 up as they kept control of the


When Owen Walsh touched down for his second try after some excellent phases

from the home team and Hadden added the conversion to put Gorey 17 - 0 clear it

looked as if Gorey might win with ease. But Dundalk had different ideas. They slowly

began to get a foothold in the game as they tried to move the ball on every occasion

and a sustained bout of pressure and some excellent handling saw winger Dave

McElligott touch down in the corner which they also converted to leave the score at

17 - 7 at the break.

Gorey failed to deal with the restart and Dundalk took full advantage and reduced the

arrears to just 3 with a try and conversion.

Gorey responded with Eoin Walsh, Cameron Reynolds, Lar Kinsella and co. making

hard yards.

A number of phases later Lloyd Stephens put some daylight between the sides when

he crossed for Gorey’s third try with Cian Hadden just wide with the conversion


But Dundalk were not finished yet and crossed for their third try to leave just three

between the sides again.

Gorey had to work hard for the remaining minutes as Dundalk threw everything at

them and held out for a good win after an excellent game between two even sides.

Gorey had some good performances with Dave O’Neill, Robbie Brooks Gareth Bater

the pick of the backs. It was the forwards who created the platform for this victory

with Eoin Walsh, Lloyd Stephens and man of the match Cameron Reynolds showing

well in the forwards. Next week Gorey travel to Ashbourne.


W Rothwell L Molloy  D Sawyer Z Sinnott L Stephens C Reynolds  N Cousins E

Walshe G Bater    S Hadden  A O Brien E Buckley D O Neill  B Brooks  R Brooks  S

Tomkins J Mulligan R Deering L Kinsella J Willoughby


Our Sponsors

Copyrights Gorey RFC 2016