This Sunday 29th January see the start of one of the most anticipated competition in the rugby calendar - The Provincial Towns Cup. The competition is one of the oldest trophies in existence in Irish rugby union, having been established in 1888.

The trophy itself was purchased in 1892 for £25 from Wests in Dublin and bears the title of Leinster Junior Challenge Cup.

In 1925, the Leinster branch of the Irish Rugby Football Union reorganized its junior competitions. The Leinster Junior Challenge Cup became the Provincial Towns Cup. This was now a knock-out competition for junior clubs from outside Dublin.

Last month, Leinster players Josh van der Flier and Tadhg Furlong, fresh from their November heroics with Ireland, were on hand to draw the teams for the first round draw.

Gorey will travel to Mullingar for what promises to be a riveting game for all fans of cup rugby.

Please come along and support your team.


Our Sponsors

Copyrights Gorey RFC 2022